Park on the high ground

Good Sunday morning!

Part of adding simplicity to life is just by practicing gratitude.  And this weekend I’ve had a lot to be thankful for.  First of all, I am really, really thankful that my car did not flood!  When I walked out of the Beckerman Center at the University of New Haven, after attending a national karate competition, this is what I saw:

Ai-yai-yai!  Thank goodness my car was not down there.  When I first arrived it was rather late, so I only found one open parking space, and it was up on a hill.  I feel so bad for these people though.  And this was after the rain had stopped for a bit, so who knows how high the water actually got.

Here’s a view from another angle:

It would have been particularly bad for me, because I was driving not the old subaru with about 150,000 miles on it, but a brand new Honda Fit, barely out of its break-in period with 700 miles on it.  So I learned a valuable lesson: if you have a new car (or any car), and it’s threatening to downpour, park on the high ground!  You’ll be thankful.

Leave a Reply

